Chesapeake High National Mathematics Honor Society (Mu Alpha Theta)

                                                            Mu Alpha Theta Honor Society Logo
This year marks the initial charter of the Chesapeake High School Chapter of the National Mathematics Honor Society.  The Mu Alpha Theta National High School and Junior College Mathematics Club was founded in 1957 by Dr. and Mrs. Richard V. Andree at the University of Oklahoma. In his words, Mu Alpha Theta is "an organization dedicated to promoting scholarship in mathematics and establishing math as an integral part of high school and junior college education." The name Mu Alpha Theta was constructed from the Greek lettering for the phonemes m, a, and th.  Members are expected to follow the three core directives:

  1. Demonstrate an ability to work with others, to conduct research and inquiry in the field of mathematics and shall possess qualities of industry, initiative, and reliability as they pertain to academic excellence.

  2. Exhibit a genuine interest, understanding of, promote scholarship in, and enthusiasm for mathematics topics.

  3. Contribute service to the high school or the community in which the chapter resides at the direction and discretion of the school’s principal and the chapter’s sponsor.

Candidates must satisfy the following criteria as set by Mu Alpha Theta and Chesapeake High School mathematics department:

  • Members must have completed two years of college preparatory mathematics courses including Algebra 1, Geometry, and Algebra 2 (or an equivalent course sequence).  

  • Members must have completed or be currently enrolled in more advanced mathematics courses which includes Honors, GT, or Advanced Placement courses.

  • Members must have a cumulative 3.0 GPA in all mathematics courses beginning with Algebra 1 or a course equivalent.

  • Members must have a cumulative 3.0 GPA in all high school courses beginning with their 9th grade year.

If you feel that these qualities define you, you are a prime candidate for Chesapeake High School Chapter of Mu Alpha Theta, National Mathematics Honor Society!